top of page



Originally starting as Hyde Park, in the now defunct East Torrens Association, the club moved to the South Australian Amateur Football League in 1961 where it played in Division 1 for most of the decade. The club acquired the lease of Webb Oval from the Burnside Council in 1957 and in 1967 the club changed its name to Glenunga. The changing-rooms were modified in 1974 to put in a small licensed bar and patio, then a purpose built clubroom was constructed in 1984, before being demolished in December 2014 to make way for the now completed Glenunga Hub.

The club has competed in all divisions from Div 1 through to Div 7 and in recent years won three senior premierships in a row between 2017 to 2019. After a successful 2022 season, the club is again competing in Division 1 this year.


Over recent years a number of Eastern Suburbs teams have disbanded or had to combine so that Glenunga is now the only non old scholar club based in the eastern suburbs between Payneham and Unley. 

A concerted effort is underway to revitalise the club through new partnerships, administration and an outreach to past players. The re-establishment of juniors has been a great success with over 700 registered juniors and growing in age ranges from Under 7 to Under 17.5. 


The junior girls program has also increased in recent years, now with over 200 players and an experienced female coaching group. 2022 saw the introduction of an inaugural senior women's team and the club is looking forward to building on this. 


The club were A2 Premiers in 1961, A3 Premiers in 1960 and 2019, A4 Premiers in 1965, 1985, 1995 and 2018, A5 Premiers in 2017, and A7 Premiers in 1977 and A9 Premiers in 1987. It also won reserves premierships in A1 in 1964, and 1966, A4 in 1988 and A5 in 1972


The Club record holder for games played is former SAAFL Chairman and Life Member John Dicker who played 400 games.

Glenunga is an integral part of the local community and is passionate about giving back to our players, parents and volunteers.


SAAFL Medal Winners

2023 Abaina Davis A1

2019 Josh Orken A3 Res

2014 Daniel Pilgram Lynch C4

2010 Chad Bourke A7

2000 Andrew Mitchell A4

2000 Leigh Sando A4 Res

1989 Tony Lane A3

1987 Gary Barber A9

1983 Brenton Laity A8

1977 Michael Denton A7

1970 Bob Bartlett A7

1968 Bob Shaw A4Res


Current Senior Players - 100 Plus Matches

Phil Andriani              252

Matt Dalcorrobo         240

Tim Mitchell               168

Troy Simper                200

Andrew Mitchell         151

Jason Dalcorrobo       206

Andrew Edwards        145

Luke Scicluna             120

Shane Selway             111

Sam Abell                   108

Ryan Simpson             107

Matt Prior                   106

Lyndon Alexander       101

Pat Prendos                101

Image 2.jpeg
bottom of page